top of page
  • Writer's pictureYYona

9/17


Professor Levy showed us a short video about a MRI view of a person that was singing Adele’s “Hello”. The video is recording some part of brain movement and how the vocal box is working while he/she is singing, I personally thought this video is very interesting because that’s the first time I know the thickness of my tongue and have some ideas about singing is an activity that also involves certain of the brain. Moreover, it is also interesting to know the fact that the way we speak is different than the way we sing. For instance, a person stammer over words or keep lose track of the flow in conversation could actually very good at singing! After knowing this fact, I immediately thought that if this question shows up in a quiz or an exam, I definitely miss the points. Similarly to another fact that a person who suffering from Parkinson is able to dance beautifully! (I would also miss the points too,haha) 

On last class, we learn about different types of nonverbal communications. It basically involves the way we : move, touch, appearance, altitude (space), talk( pitch, volume), even silence..etc are counts as the way we indirectly express in some part of ourselves. Before I enroll to communication class, I know the way we speak and the way we communicate is very important, because forwarding a message or expressing thoughts can be influential to a person, a group or even a world. However, I was never paying that much attention or getting know to all of those “ nonverbal communication”. After getting more to know about nonverbal communication, I feel that as soon as I step out from my house, I am indirectly talking or disclosing my information to the stranger. 

Among the 8 types of nonverbal communication, I want to challenge one of the category that is not fully apply to everyone in the society. One of the description in nonverbal communication is to read personal appearance to identify someone’s information. I would argued that many people dress up themselves in a very neat and beautiful outlook, but do you dare to visit their house?  This makes me realize that most people are agree on “ don’t judge someone by their appearance”, by the moment you have to evaluate this person, if the whole meeting without any verbal conversation and only through nonverbal conversation, aren’t most of your positive or negative feeling about this person come from his appearance? 



Although lot of time we are inadvertently use our body to non verbally communicate to others, but in order to express more clearly for our thoughts and ability, verbal communication is absolutely necessary. 



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page