top of page
  • Writer's pictureYYona

Interpersonal Communication




This week we had a quiz mostly focus on interpersonal communications. When I was reading the text, it actually reflects lots of experience onto myself, and lots of stages can also applied onto my friends and coworkers. For example, one of the stages illustrated in the text perfectly applied on the situation of my manager. Since her daughters leave home for career, to her, “with no ‘birds left in the nest’ her family dog becomes the new center of attention and inadvertently takes on the role as one of her offspring”, she treat her dog like her kid, she always share her experiences, pictures, and interesting events about her ‘dog son’ with us, she is willing to take a day off from work for her dog. She buy her dog’s clothing, make birthday party for celebration, take it to dog’ beauty salon, and even ask her friend to ship dog food from Switzerland every month. Her Facebook or social media are all pictures about her dog. Honestly, sometimes I would wish I am her doggie. Then I can play hard and enjoy my life. :) Based on her care with her dog, I believed my manager is at the stage six of family development, the post launching of children, in which the family dog become the focus of the family.


At the time of reading this texts, I always nodded inadvertently. Perhaps this action represented an acknowledgment that reflects me. The text has elaborated on types of conflict and the strategies to managing conflict. In my opinion, among all the strategies that are listed. Avoids a conflict indeed expressing “ low concern for self and other in a relationship”. I would also think that if in an romantic relationship, the side that choose not to solved the problem directly and avoid the conflict is a warning of ending the relationship. If the problem can not be resolved, then more problems will overlaps on one another, the relationship will eventually burst. 

  The pass cannot pass, the further never comes.



This chapter is very comprehensive because all these stages occur inevitably in our daily life, it forms the basic regulation that attaches one another that we may or may not be noticed. This invisible frameworks make me aware of how to deal with relationships.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page