top of page
  • Writer's pictureYYona

Never give up, Great things take time

Updated: Sep 21, 2018

If any gestures, sign languages belong to nonverbal and non oral communication, I would say any exam grade is also another form of nonverbal communication. A good grade is a symbolic representation of our knowledge and effort. Holding an exam with 90 or above indirectly conveys a message that the exam taker is smart. Same ides as new communication technologies are blurring the distinction between formal and informal, the idea that a good grade represents a good student isn't the whole story. Most of the time, even though we think we came in fully prepared for the exam, we might not earn the grade that we satisfied.

Just like the first quiz that we had last week, I expected my grade after the teamwork and I disappointed about it. Especially when I fully prepared with notes and review in multiple times. I first thought the quiz was easy. However, when I find out the answers. I was confused.

This situation usually makes me angry. The grade makes me doubt my ability to learn and which eventually affect my performance to this class. But hopefully, this first quiz would be the lowest to drop among all.

Overall, This quiz brings me more attention to context, vocabulary and names. Moreover, I would continue to write notes while reading the chapters and prepare more. The result would not knock me down and I know I would do better for even the harder quizzes!


Opportunities are not certainly reserved for those who are fully prepared but also will never give any chance for those who are not prepared.



 

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page